Samuels, Liton carry Comilla home in BPL

Dhaka: A 42-run sixth wicket unbeaten partnership by Marlon Samuels and cameo Liton Das powered defending champions Comilla to record an overwhelming five-wicket victory over Khulna Titans in Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 held on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur, Dhaka.

Chasing a winning target of 142 runs set by Khulna Titans, Comilla comfortable reached home in 18.4 overs for the loss of five wickets.

The Caribbean recruit Samuels was the hero of Comilla’s victory as he contributed 69 runs off 57 balls laced with eight boundaries while Liton supported him with breezy 24 runs off just 11 balls that studded with five boundaries, after the Victorians faced early batting jolt losing their three batsmen inside 11 overs.

Opener Ahmed Shehzad (0) left the field without disturbing the scoreboard while his partner Imrul Kayes (20) and number four batsman Khalid Latif (3) also lasted a little, leaving Comilla in trouble.

However, Samuels and Liton took Comilla at home to remain unbeaten till the end of innings. It was also the third successive victories in a row for the defending champions.

Pacer Benny Howell was the most successful bowler for Khulna as he captured two wickets giving away 35 runs while Mosharraf Hossain, Junaid Khan and Shafiul Islam took one wicket each.

Samuels of Comilla Victorians was named the player of the match for his match-winning knock in the match.

Earlier, unbeaten captain 40 runs knock from Mahmudullah Riyad enabled Khulna Titans to post a moderate total of 141 for 6 from their allotted 20 overs, after Comilla’s captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and put Khulna to bat first.

Khulna never enjoyed the momentum on way to their batting in the face of tight bowling display by the Comilla bowlers. They lost wickets at regular intervals throughout their faltering innings. Whenever a Khulna partnership seemed threatening, Comilla bowlers got their breakthrough and pegged back the Titans.

Mahmudullah was the highest scorer for his side with 40 runs from 38 balls. His unbeaten knock studded with four boundaries.

Mashrafe was the pick of Comilla bowler as he bagged three wickets for 16 runs in four overs. He was well supported by Mohammad Sharif, Mohammad Saifuddin and Rashid Khan, who took a wicket apiece.